Still Cancer Free

It has been three years since I finished chemo and was proclaimed NED (no evidence of disease). I have graduated to the point where now I see Dr. Saltzman, the gynecological oncologist, every six months and I get a CT scan annually. Aside from those rather nerve-wracking appointments, I have moved on with my life and it all seems like a bad dream now.

Since I don’t know why I got the cancer in the first place, I know it’s possible it could return one day. That feels like the proverbial sword of Damocles hanging over my head. Most of the time, I don’t think about it much, but it’s there, staring me in the face, whenever it’s time to go see Dr. Saltzman again.

Am I taking steps to stay healthy? Well, yes and no. I’ve lined up a good support system and I’m using meditation apps on my smartphone. I get decent amounts of exercise taking the dogs for a walk every day, I’m trying to do a better job of taking care of myself. Sadly, I have not been able to tame my ferocious sweet tooth, and I know that’s critical if I don’t want to invite the cancer back. I’m giving up sugar–AGAIN–on New Year’s Day.

I feel infinite sorrow for those who are still struggling with cancer, for those still going through treatments, and especially for those who are losing the battle. The Saint Jude Children’s Research Hospital fundraiser ads break my heart. No child should have to go through that.

Life is full of hardships, challenges, and grief. We all have some kind of cross to bear. All we can do is take one day (or one minute, or even one second) at a time and do what we can to stay positive. For me, that means practicing gratitude, finding peace wherever it’s available, staying close to God, and trusting that whatever the future holds, I’ll have the resources to meet the challenge.

Now, with the Covid-19 pandemic raging, humanity is facing a whole new set of trials. I’m hearing that too many people who need other types of medical care, such as diagnosis and treatment for cancer, are avoiding doctors for fear they’ll get Covid. What a sad thing it would be to wait too long for cancer treatment and find out the cancer was at Stage 4 and the prognosis is grim.

I was very fortunate. The cancer was caught while it was still Stage 1. I have an excellent chance of remaining cancer free for the rest of my life. Others are not so lucky. I had an old friend who developed lumps in her breast but was too scared to see a doctor. By the time she finally went, it had spread throughout her body and all the best treatments couldn’t save her. She was only 42.

Cancer treatments are getting better all the time. Some day we will conquer this horrible disease. In the meantime, please take good care of yourself, don’t avoid the doctor, and live every day as if you only have two months to live. Life is precious. Let’s not waste a single minute of it.

Blessings of the season to you and yours!

About judyscarcinosarcomablog

Born and raised in Seattle, now living in a beautiful part of rural Maryland, married to Bruce, no children. We do have an elderly horse (boarded at a lovely stable 10 minutes from home), two wonderful dogs, and four barn cats. I am currently the Office Manager/Legal Assistant in Bruce's law firm (but not for long, as we plan to retire soon). Diagnosed at age 64 with uterine cancer, which turned out to be carcinosarcoma, a rare and very aggressive form of cancer with a high recurrence rate. A complete hysterectomy removed all the cancer, but there can always be that errant cell that gets loose in the blood, so I opted to go through chemotherapy as a precaution. The future is a question mark (which is not necessarily a bad thing!). I've created this blog to share my journey in hopes it might eventually be helpful to others.
This entry was posted in cancer, Carcinosarcoma, Health, Recovery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Still Cancer Free

  1. Gabriel Goldberg says:

    Hooray for Judy “NED” Hake! Holiday and New Year wishes for you and hope to see you both soon.

    Like

Leave a comment