Acupuncture

I am convinced that anyone getting chemotherapy should also have acupuncture, if possible.

If you’ve been following my story, you will know that I received acupuncture at the Kaiser Permanente center during my first two chemo treatments. Then, since I just turned 65, Medicare kicked in and doesn’t cover acupuncture. So for the third treatment, I wasn’t able to have acupuncture, and the pain and aching in my legs and joints was almost unbearable.

Right after that, Pat, an old friend of Bruce’s who was recently in the area, called to see how I was doing and asked if I’m getting any alternative treatments. I told him about the acupuncture. He said, “Oh, because I was going to tell you I had lunch with a couple of friends in Westminster, and they spoke very highly of a local acupuncturist. I can get the name for you if you want.” I said yes, I would be very interested to know.

It turned out the acupuncturist recommended by Pat’s friends is the same guy who was recommended to me awhile back by my farrier for my arthritis pain. His name is Luke Pritchard, and he has great credentials and great online reviews. I figured Pat’s calling was providential, so I called and had a nice chat with Dr. Luke and made an appointment to meet with him.

That first appointment was eye-opening. We spent about 15 minutes just talking. He told me how acupuncture came to the United States–former president Richard Nixon was in China, injured himself and saw a traditional acupuncturist for help. The results were so remarkable that Nixon decided he had to bring acupuncture to the United States. Alas, no one took him very seriously at the time, but seeds were planted and eventually acupuncture did come to be more widely accepted in the United States.

Luke also told me about the different types of acupuncture. It was initially “invented” by the Chinese, who have been using it for some 4,000 years, if I remember correctly. Gradually it spread to other eastern countries, which came up with their own methods. Luke is a firm believer in Chinese acupuncture, which is the oldest and, he believes, most effective, and which he practices exclusively.

He explained how acupuncture works on the nervous system, which according to Eastern medicine is the foundation of everything else. If something is out of whack in the nervous system, it can cause pain and stress, which can cause tightening of muscles, which can pull bones and joints out of alignment and cause dysfunction throughout the body. The nervous system is like a series of rivers and streams that can get blocked. Acupuncture breaks up those blockages and releases tension so that everything can work smoothly and freely again. It makes sense, doesn’t it?

So I had the treatment to help prevent neuropathy in my legs and feet, to aid my liver and kidneys, and I asked him also if he could do anything to help me with the arthritis in my knees, so he treated that, too. I noticed an immediate difference in my knees–the stiffness was gone, and has continued to be greatly improved ever since.

I had another chemo treatment the next day, and I didn’t have nearly the amount of pain in my leg muscles and joints, which I attribute to the acupuncture. The neuropathy was okay at first, too, but several days later got very bad in my feet. I’m thinking perhaps the acupuncture needs to be repeated in order to be most effective. Dr. Luke does, in fact, recommend having treatments weekly while I’m going through chemotherapy.

One of the best things to come out of that first appointment was that as I was getting ready to leave, he asked, “Are you eating okay?” I said, “Well, no, not really. It’s hard to figure out what to eat when you’re nauseous.” He recommended Garden of Life Protein Powder and Greens Powder and told me I could use them as a meal replacement. They would help me not become so depleted.

I went right down the street to the Vitamin Shoppe and picked up the two bottles of supplements. I’m very impressed with the ingredients lists. They’re completely organic, plant-based, GMO free, plus they have probiotics and enzymes added. I got the chocolate flavors, which are actually quite tasty. The chocolate protein powder is just like a chocolate milkshake, only it’s healthy!

I’ve been using those supplements ever since, and I’m happy to report that I’m not nearly as fatigued as I was after previous treatments. Also, the cravings have cleared up, so I think my body is now getting the nutrition it needs to help it rebuild after each treatment.

I mentioned to my oncologist that I was using these supplements, and her response was guarded. She recommended bringing the ingredients lists into my next appointment and letting the pharmacy check on them. I’m sure there would be some concern about interactions with the chemo drugs.

Dr. Luke said that in western medicine, doctors advise against taking Chinese herbs while going through chemotherapy. Chinese doctors, however, say just the opposite. Who to believe? For me, the fact that I feel so much better after taking the supplements tells me they must be good for me, and I’m not noticing any adverse reactions. I may go ahead and let the pharmacy evaluate the ingredients, but I’m not sure I will stop taking the supplements even if they advise it. Of course it’s up to each individual to choose whether to err on the side of caution or not.

I had another acupuncture treatment last Thursday and will have another one this coming Wednesday. My next chemo treatment is Thursday. We’ll see how things go and whether i can tell much of a difference now that I’m getting regular acupuncture treatments. I am hopeful!

About judyscarcinosarcomablog

Born and raised in Seattle, now living in a beautiful part of rural Maryland, married to Bruce, no children. We do have an elderly horse (boarded at a lovely stable 10 minutes from home), two wonderful dogs, and four barn cats. I am currently the Office Manager/Legal Assistant in Bruce's law firm (but not for long, as we plan to retire soon). Diagnosed at age 64 with uterine cancer, which turned out to be carcinosarcoma, a rare and very aggressive form of cancer with a high recurrence rate. A complete hysterectomy removed all the cancer, but there can always be that errant cell that gets loose in the blood, so I opted to go through chemotherapy as a precaution. The future is a question mark (which is not necessarily a bad thing!). I've created this blog to share my journey in hopes it might eventually be helpful to others.
This entry was posted in Acupuncture, Chemotherapy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Acupuncture

  1. Kim says:

    So glad the acupuncture is helping you. It’s amazing what it can do. That neuropathy in the legs and feet must be awful. Hope treatments work on that too. And it would seem anything that makes you feel better and not so exhausted would be a positive thing. Big hugs!!!!!

    Love, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Kim! The acupuncture is doing wonders for my arthritis, too. For the last two nights, I didn’t have to take pain medicine when I went to bed. That’s the first time in many years–maybe at least a decade–that I’ve gone to bed and not needed pain medicine!!

      Love, Judy

      Like

  2. Jonathan Dorfman says:

    Judy, we are back from New York and caught up your blog writings. You are so brave. It is wonderful that the acupuncture is helping you deal with the pain and discomfort ! And the end of the treatment is approaching.

    It looks like autumn has finally arrived. We mailed another package to you on Monday. It seems appropriate that the “leftovers” were used for baby knit hats (see photo with e-Mail sent on Oct 24).

    Love, Jonathan and Cynthia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bruce says:

      Jonathan and Cynthia:
      Thanks so much for the knit caps! I’m sure Judy has thanked you for them and will continue to do so, but I just want to register again how much she appreciates them. As the seasons turn, she’s often out early in the morning or late at night feeding the barn cats when it’s in the 30s and windy (as is coming on this weekend). I know for sure that she REALLY appreciates those warm hats.
      She’s only got one more chemo treatment after last Thursday, and God willing she’ll be fine and start to get her hair back! She’s been amazingly strong about this (unlike me).

      Like

    • Jonathan and Cynthia,

      Those little hats are amazing! So snug and warm. I have discovered that if it’s especially windy and cold, I can wear two together and that’s perfect. As it gets even colder, I can wear a regular hat on top of the knitted cap and it’s great insulation.

      Thank you again and please continue to keep us appraised of all the grandbaby adventures!

      Love, Judy

      Like

      • Jonathan says:

        Cindy just finished knitting caps for Davis. Now, she is finishing up blankets for Bennett, Landon, and Caroline’s baby boy (due date was Nov 19). Judy, you helped inspire Cindy;s knitting frenzy of love.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Carroll says:

    I’m so glad you found something to nourish you while you heal! Your acupuncturist sounds like a godsend and great addition to your team.

    Know I’m still praying for you and for Bruce.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment