Fifth Chemo Treatment

A day will come when people will look back at the use of chemotherapy in the battle against cancer and shake their heads at the barbarity of it.

In order to kill cancer cells, chemotherapy has to also kill healthy cells. While there’s not enough healthy cell death to result in death to the entire organism, it is kind of like a little death, and in some extreme cases may result in death to the person.

Chemotherapy drugs work by targeting cells that grow and divide quickly. This describes cancer cells but also describes other cells such as hair-producing cells and three types of blood cells–white cells, red cells, and platelets. Our bodies will start immediately trying to rebuild these cells. Over time the rebuilding process must take longer and become more difficult. Of course if there is any cancer present, it is also trying to reconstitute itself. Treatments are scheduled in a timely fashion to prevent cancer cells from growing back, and this will also slow the growth of normal cells.

Unlike healthy cells, cancer cells do not die naturally. Chemotherapy forces them to die. And since they are not produced naturally like other kinds of fast-growing cells, once they’re dead, they’re gone and cannot regenerate themselves.

This doesn’t mean that normal cells can’t again eventually become cancerous. This is why it’s critically important to make sure normal cells are as healthy as possible, and this means supplying them with all the resources they need, namely water, oxygen, nutrients and the means of being rid of toxins. But this is a blog post for another day.

As I mentioned earlier, each chemo treatment tends to be worse than the one before as the body struggles to recover.

I’m happy to report that the side effects of the fifth treatment were not as intense as they were after the previous treatment. For this I credit acupuncture and supplements. But I’m sad to report that the side effects, especially nausea and extreme fatigue, lasted longer this time–about eight days.

I am very grateful I only have one treatment to go. I can’t express how much I’m looking forward to being able to regain my health (and my hair!) and steadily rebuild on it till all is restored.

This, of course, assumes there won’t be any cancer that shows up on the post-chemo CT scan. One day, one challenge at a time.

I can fully understand why some people may choose not to undergo chemotherapy, considering the devastating side effects and the sheer barbarity of it. And there are plenty of so-called alternative medicine doctors out there touting some miracle natural cure that they claim has been hushed up by the medical establishment because there is huge money to be made in pharmaceutical cancer treatments.

I would just have soon skipped chemo myself, but the biology of how it works makes sense. New treatments, especially in the area of immunotherapy, are being developed and showing promise. If you dig deep to find reliable evidence that those alleged miracle natural cures really work, you will be hard pressed. For now, chemotherapy and radiation are the best we’ve got against this devastating disease.

I believe it’s worth checking out alternative treatments, especially truly natural methods such as foods, herbs, exercise, meditation, and anything else that is good, healthy, and safe for our bodies. (I highly recommend the book “Anticancer,” and that is also a blog post for another day.) These should be done in conjunction with conventional medicine, not instead of it. Is it worth gambling our lives on the word of some alternative medicine person who claims to have the next miracle cure? No, I don’t think so. Making the wrong choice could mean losing the battle altogether.

I’m blessed to have lots of support from friends and family, and to have lots of people praying for me. This fact alone is enough to give me extra strength to get through this and stay optimistic about the future. I must confess that I’m not very optimistic or positive when I’m in the throes of the nasty side effects. I wish I was better at enduring suffering. But I just keep reminding myself that it’s temporary and it’s for a good cause.

My heartfelt thanks and love to all of you who are helping to prop me up during my journey.

About judyscarcinosarcomablog

Born and raised in Seattle, now living in a beautiful part of rural Maryland, married to Bruce, no children. We do have an elderly horse (boarded at a lovely stable 10 minutes from home), two wonderful dogs, and four barn cats. I am currently the Office Manager/Legal Assistant in Bruce's law firm (but not for long, as we plan to retire soon). Diagnosed at age 64 with uterine cancer, which turned out to be carcinosarcoma, a rare and very aggressive form of cancer with a high recurrence rate. A complete hysterectomy removed all the cancer, but there can always be that errant cell that gets loose in the blood, so I opted to go through chemotherapy as a precaution. The future is a question mark (which is not necessarily a bad thing!). I've created this blog to share my journey in hopes it might eventually be helpful to others.
This entry was posted in Chemotherapy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fifth Chemo Treatment

  1. Kim says:

    So glad the after effects of this treatment weren’t as bad although it still sounds pretty rough. Only one more treatment left to finish the cycle – thank goodness. We all hope and pray the cancer will be gone forever. You are being a very strong person going through these treatments. I could see not going it if you were much older but you got a lot more years to give the world and many more Scrabble games to play with Gabe and me!!!! 🙂 Big hugs for you and Bruce – a tough thing to go through for both of you. Miss you – hope we’ll get to see you soon – when you are up to it.

    Lots of love,

    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bruce says:

    I love you, dear. I’ve been praying as hard as I’ve ever prayed. You’re going to beat this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Carroll says:

    Hi Judy,

    I don’t know where you are in your treatment schedule. It’s been two weeks since this post and I can’t remember your regimen. Please don’t worry about answering anything if you’re not up to it.

    I agree with you. Chemo is a barbaric treatment – like leeches of old – but it’s all we’ve got right now. I know you’re going to come out stronger in all sorts of ways when this ordeal is over. And I’m amazed by your courage and spirit.

    I’m hoping you and Bruce have a blessed Thanksgiving. It’s just an ordinary Thursday here in Canada, but we’ll be thinking of you both and all of our Stateside relatives with love and gratitude.

    *big hugs to you and Bruce*

    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mary,

      We had a quiet Thanksgiving and enjoyed it very much. Bruce and I are introverts and big social events wear us out, so having an excuse to stay home and have a quiet day was an unexpected blessing. We’ll see family and friends at Christmas, by which time I should have more energy.

      Thanks for your continued support and encouragement. As you’ll see if you see my latest blog post, I’ve finished chemo now and just waiting to find out what happens next. I do hope I never have to go through chemo again, but at least I know it’s temporary and the good days do outnumber the bad days.

      Blessings to you and your family!

      Hugs, Judy (& Bruce)

      Like

Leave a comment