Sixth (and Final) Chemo Treatment

I had what I hope is my final chemo treatment on Thursday, November 16, nine days ago.

I’m not sure why, but the after-effects have been much less intense than they were for the previous treatments. I had a few days of feeling nauseous, exhausted, and having that awful chemical taste in my mouth. Then it mostly all cleared up and I’ve been fine ever since, except for some lingering fatigue and the ever-present neuropathy. I don’t know whether it was better this time because I was in better shape, having built myself up a little bit with the supplements, or because of my extremely positive frame of mind, or a little of both.

It’s hard to express the relief I feel to be finished. I am virtually euphoric. Now, within just a few weeks, I should be able to start seeing my hair grow back and start feeling like I’m getting more energy back. My body can heal now without getting knocked back down by another treatment. (This all assumes the next CT scan shows up clear, of course. More on that in a minute.)

My oncologist, Dr. Hussain, says that it may take up to three months to completely recover. She says I have anemia caused by the chemo, and it takes awhile for that to clear up. As for the neuropathy, it could also take up to three months, and it may not clear up at all. She said I should get a physical in three months to see how everything looks.

We had an amiable final visit. I like her a lot, and I’ve enjoyed getting to know the nurses in the Infusion Center at Kaiser in Gaithersburg, especially Jane who handled four of my six treatments. I joked with them that it was a pleasure working with them, but I hoped they would understand that I hope I never see them again. They laughed good-naturedly, but they probably hear that joke a lot.

I learned, though, that I’m not quite done with them. They recommend leaving the port in for at least three months, just in case further treatments are necessary, and it has to be flushed monthly, which I will have done in the Infusion Center.

Next on the agenda: CT scan this coming Thursday, November 30. Then Bruce and I will go meet with Dr. Salzman on December 12 to find out the results of the CT scan and what happens next. Dr. Hussain said that even if everything is clear, I will probably have to be monitored every three months for awhile. I don’t know whether that monitoring will include a CT scan each time. We’ll find out on December 12.

As a friend recently remarked, I have a lot to process now as we approach the end of the year and go through the holidays, which tend to be emotional, introspective times for me anyway. My life has changed significantly in the last six months. It’s difficult having this Sword of Damocles hanging over my head, knowing I will have to continue to be monitored and will probably never be declared officially cured.

But people who experience cancer nearly always find a silver lining. If nothing else, the shadow of death causes life to suddenly show up in vivid colors. Each moment becomes more precious. I’m spending more time wondering whether I’ve contributed anything of value to this world that might live on when I’m gone. I have a stronger sense of God’s presence than ever before, and I’m working harder at cultivating that relationship with Him. I cherish other relationships, with husband, family, and friends, more than ever. Those are the things that will live on after I’m gone.

I dream, as I’ve dreamed nearly all my life, of writing the Great American Novel, but even that would have a limited lifespan unless I suddenly morphed into a Charles Dickens or Jane Austen. But following some of those lifelong dreams has also become more important to me. Even if they never amount to anything, it’s important to respect our dreams and pursue them. We can’t know what plans God might have for us.

And there is the added benefit that our attitudes have a great deal of influence on how our cancer journey progresses. If I’m following my dreams, if I’m feeling fulfilled and content, I have a much better long-term prognosis than I would otherwise.

Now that I’m done with chemo (I hope), I can get on with other topics I want to talk about in this blog. For one thing, I’m compiling some resources I want to share. And maybe now I can devote more time to doing additional research. I’m also aware of my tendency to give in to denial, and I know there will be days when I don’t want to think about cancer, let alone come here and post anything. But I’ll have to fight that urge. I want this blog to not only be a record of my own journey, but to be a helpful resource for others who might be walking a similar path. So, to the best of my ability, I will continue to devote time and energy to this even if I get a clean bill of health on December 12.

 

About judyscarcinosarcomablog

Born and raised in Seattle, now living in a beautiful part of rural Maryland, married to Bruce, no children. We do have an elderly horse (boarded at a lovely stable 10 minutes from home), two wonderful dogs, and four barn cats. I am currently the Office Manager/Legal Assistant in Bruce's law firm (but not for long, as we plan to retire soon). Diagnosed at age 64 with uterine cancer, which turned out to be carcinosarcoma, a rare and very aggressive form of cancer with a high recurrence rate. A complete hysterectomy removed all the cancer, but there can always be that errant cell that gets loose in the blood, so I opted to go through chemotherapy as a precaution. The future is a question mark (which is not necessarily a bad thing!). I've created this blog to share my journey in hopes it might eventually be helpful to others.
This entry was posted in Chemotherapy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sixth (and Final) Chemo Treatment

  1. Kim says:

    So glad your ordeal is over with and we are praying that December 12th will bring you good results. Did you have accupuncture before the treatment again? If so, wonder if that helped. Sounds like you were feeling well enough to enjoy a nice Thanksgiving. Are you on supplements for the anemia? A pain having to keep the port in but here’s hoping it was entirely unnecesary. It’s so good that you liked your doctor and the nurses; so important when going through what you have. Can’t wait to see you and Bruce and looking forward to good news!!!!

    Love you, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kim. Yes, I did have acupuncture before that treatment, so it’s possible it was that that enabled me to get through the after-effects with so little trouble. Or maybe a combination of the acupuncture, supplements, and Chinese herbs. In any case, it’s been kind of miraculous! And yes, I’m using the Garden of Life Protein Powder and Greens Powder, which I believe will help with the anemia. They certainly seem to give me more energy, plus one of the side effects of the chemo meds is mouth sores, and I haven’t had any trouble with those either since I’ve been taking the supplements. So basically, all is well! I will be very glad not to have to wear this wig any more. We’re looking forward to spending New Years Eve with you and Gabe, but we must negotiate travel arrangements! 🙂

      Love, Judy

      Like

  2. Mary Carroll says:

    Oh, Judy,
    What a lovely post to read this morning! I’m so glad your chemo ordeal is over.
    I just read a lovely sermon about being awake. When I read your blog I see that the posts have been written by a person fully awake and paying attention – to the good and the bad. This paragraph seems wonderfully apropos as you wait to hear the results of your CT scan:

    Another thing that comes to mind in being attentive to God is a kind of gentle, non-condemning acknowledgment that “you are where you are.” There’s an old Buddhist koan that I find very endearing: “You cannot fall off the path.” I think it is a deadening waste of time to fixate on the past, whether it’s to be stuck on the good ‘ole days or the bad ‘old days. And, likewise, it’s a snare and delusion to be obsessed with the future, which has not yet been created. I’m not saying that the past is not to be reverenced nor the future anticipated, but I am saying that life is now, and that we live out both our memories and our dreams out of the context of now. God is now.

    The whole sermon is worth reading. https://www.ssje.org/2004/11/28/keep-awake/

    And for now, I’ll say a prayer of thanksgiving for your safe passage through chemotherapy and I’ll add a prayer for your continued strength and recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Mary, that devotional spoke to me in many ways. I really like the question ““What is this season of your life about? What is the most important thing?” That is certainly worth pondering! And I love his thoughts on waiting. That website looks like a great spiritual resource, so I’m bookmarking it and plan to read more as I’m able.

      I really appreciate your support and prayers. We will keep you posted!

      Love, Judy

      Like

  3. Mary Carroll says:

    I saw Bruce’s post over at Daily Kos! I’m so happy that you had a clear scan!

    On a terrible news day, that is just what I needed to hear.

    So now for a prayer of thanksgiving and I’ll keep praying for your continued good health.

    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mary! I am a little reluctant to fully embrace the news until we’ve met with the gynecological oncologist on December 12 and he’s had a chance to review everything and do a physical exam as well and then tell us where we go from here. But hearing from the oncologist in charge of my chemo that the CT “looks good” is certainly hopeful news! I’m sure she wouldn’t say that if she thought there was any concern whatsoever. Thanks for prayers and support!

      Judy

      Like

  4. Mary Blau says:

    Judy, I have been following your progress and praying for you. I hope the 12th brings the good news you anticipate. The best Christmas present in the world! Again, thank you so much for sharing your journey and progress.
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment